Wry Writ

August 29, 2007

Back to School Fair – Not Fair

Filed under: Home — bsloterbeek @ 10:26 pm

0829071901.jpg0829071900.jpg0829071859.jpg

The girls rode the horses today at the back to school fair.  It was a great turn out but terribly overwhelming.  There were children everywhere, sugar at every table, dripping melty ice cream and all kinds of distractions.  This year they also had horses led by the Ottawa County Sherriff’s Department.  I feel terrible about one thing though.

One of the officers came to us and said he wanted us to be the last one’s in line.  Would we tell everyone that came there would be no more after us.  A mother and young girl approached.  They were very nice, and just wanted a ride on the ponies.  I was torn.  I didn’t feel like I had a choice to say something.  The officer that had spoken to us was not around.  I thought he might be coming back and I could let him do his own dirty work.  I should have.  I tried to communicate to the woman who I believe spoke mostly spanish, that the man had said no more. 

She asked me who, I said the officer.  Of course there was no officer to be seen except those leading the horses.  The woman and her little girl just quietly walked away.  I watched them go.  I felt terrible.  The little girl did not even cry, she just followed her mommy away.  I was furious with the officer for telling to do his dirty work.  I am mad at myself for complying.  What a terrible thing to do. 

What made it worse, was that as we got closer and I focused on getting the girls on a horse, more people came and I was now not going to say anything.  Both because I was so bothered by doing it the first time, and because I was too busy helping my girls.  So if the woman came by later, she probably thought I was racist or something because I did not let her in line, but allowed these other people.

Mostly, I would like to get a piece of the Ottawa County Sherriff Deputy who put me in that position.  I am so frustrated by that.

PS.  The pictures were taken into the setting sun, I didn’t notice when I snapped them.  Trust me, it’s my kids on the horses.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.